Sports Minister Anurag Thakur felicitates triumphant Paralympians | Tokyo Paralympics News – Times of India

NEW DELHI: Sports Minister Anurag Thakur on Wednesday felicitated India’s just-returned Tokyo Paralympics medallists and hoped the country’s para athletes would break their record performance in the 2024 Paris edition.
The Indian para athletes registered their best-ever performance for the country in the Tokyo Games by winning an unprecedented 19 medals, including five gold, eight silver and six bronze.

“I recall in the 2016 Paralympics, the size of the Indian contingent was 19, while this year the country has won as many as 19 medals. You have shown us that the human spirit is the most powerful of all.

Read Also

Multi-tasker Noida DM Suhas Yathiraj says his Paralympic silver shows sports and academics can co-exist

It’s a misconception that sports and academics cannot be pursued simultaneously, says Noida District Magistrate and Paralympic silver medal-winning shuttler Suhas Yathiraj, basking in the glory of his unparalleled achievements which he credited to the inspiring role played by his late father.

“Our medal tally has increased by about five times. For the first time we have won medals in table tennis and archery, and competed for the first time in canoeing and powerlifting. We equalled two world records and we broke even more. India’s para athletes delivered a perfect podium finish,” Thakur said.


(SAI Media Photo)
He offered the government’s full support to the athletes.

“The government’s approach in extending support to athletes for international competitions has undergone a transformational change. The government will continue to support India’s paralympians with facilities and funding so that they may continue to excel internationally.

“We’d like to encourage more regional and national tournaments for our paralympians so they can regularly compete and hone their skills,” said Thakur.
The function was also attended by Thakur’s predecessor and current Law and Justice Minister Kiren Rijiju and Minister of State for Sports Nisith Pramanik among others.


Also present on the occasion were Sports Secretary Ravi Mittal, Sports Authority of India Director General Sandip Pradhan, Paralympic Committee of India President Deepa Malik.

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.


For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.