Thompson-Herah runs second-fastest women’s 100m

Olympic champion Elaine Thompson-Herah won the women’s 100 metres in the second-fastest time ever at the Prefontaine Classic, a Diamond League event, crossing the finishing line in 10.54 seconds on Saturday.

Thompson-Herah said she surprised even herself, beating Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce by nearly two-tenths of a second. Shericka Jackson finished third to repeat the Jamaicans’ Tokyo podium sweep.

American Florence Griffith-Joyner is the only woman to have clocked a faster time over the distance, having set the world record of 10.49 seconds in 1988.


In the men’s 100m event, Tokyo bronze medallist Andre de Grasse won in a wind-aided 9.74, with Americans Fred Kerley and Ronnie Baker finishing in 9.78 and 9.82, respectively.

American Noah Lyles surged out of the turn to win the men’s 200 metres in a world-leading 19.52 seconds.

Olympic champion Athing Mu won the women’s 800 metres in 1:55.04.


Dalilah Muhammad made light work of the 400m hurdles, winning in 52.77, while in the women’s 3,000m steeplechase, Kenya’s Norah Jeruto put up a world-leading 8:53.65 to win.

There were also wins for Canada’s Marco Arop (men’s 800m, 1:44.51s), Kenyan Norah Jeruto (steeplechase, 8:53.65), Faith Kipyegon of Kenya (women’s 1,500, 3:53.230), USA’s Ryan Crouser (men’s shot put, 23.15m), Pedro Pechardo of Portugal (men’s triple jump, 17.63m).

Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook


We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

 For the latest news and updates, follow us on Google News


Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.